Welcome to Celtic Fringe | Join | Help
Past Winners
World Pipe Band
All Ireland Senior Solo Drumming
All Ireland Pipe Band
World Solo Drumming
World G1 Drum Corp
Gold Medal - Argyllshire

Winners of the Highland Society of London's Gold Medal for Piobaireachd
at the Argyllshire Gathering, Oban
Year Winner
2015 John Angus Smith, "Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay"
2014 Douglas Murray, "His Father’s Lament for Donald MacKenzie"
2013 Callum Beaumont, Bo’ness, Scotland, “Nameless – Hiharin odin, hiharin dro”
2012 Finlay Johnston, "Farewell to the Laird of Islay"
2011 Calum Beaumont of Bo'ness, "Keppoch's March"
2010 Faye Henderson of Kirriemuir, Scotland, playing "Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay"
2009 Alastair Dunn, "Lament for the Viscount of Dundee"
2008 Niall Stewart, "The Blind Piper's Obstinacy"
2007 Richard Hawke, New Zealand, "Rory MacLoude's Lament"
2006 Greg Wilson, New Zealand
2005 Euan McCrimmon
2004 Stuart Liddell
2003 Bruce Gandy, Nova Scotia, Canada
2002 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh
2001 Jack Lee, Ontario, Canada
2000 Michael Rogers, Maryland, USA
1999 Major John Cairns, Ontario, Canada
1998 Niall Matheson, Inverness
1997 James Murray, Cupar
1996 Angus MacColl, Oban
1995 William McCallum, Clydebank
1994 Dr. Angus MacDonald, Skye
1993 Cpl. Gordon Walker, RHF
1992 Colin MacLellan, Ontario, Canada.
1991 James MacGillivray, Ontario, Canada
1990 Sgt. Brian Donaldson, SG.
1989 Cpl. Alasdair Gillies, QOH
1988 Roderick MacLeod, Cumbernauld
1987 John Hanning, New Zealand
1986 Alfred Morrison, Bishopston
1985 Robert Wallace, Glasgow
1984 Michael Cusack, Texas, USA
1983 John Wilson, Strathclyde Police
1982 P/M Evan MacRae, Fort William
1981 Gavin Stoddart, Edinburgh
1980 Murray Henderson, Eassie, Angus
1979 William Livingstone, Ontario,
1978 James MacIntosh, Dundee
1977 Ian Clowe, Dumfries
1976 Malcolm MacRae, Kirriemuir
1975 Arthur G. Gillies, Kilchrenan
1974 Kenneth MacLean, Glasgow
1973 Angus J. MacLellan, CGP
1972 Hugh McCallum, Bridge of Allen
1971 Finlay MacNeill, Inverness
1970 Andrew Wright, Paisley
1969 John MacDougall, Arbroath
1968 Thomas Pearston, Glasgow
1967 William MacDonald, Benbecula
1966 Duncan MacFadyen, Johnstone
1965 Neil MacEachern, Islay
1964 Hector MacFadyen, Pennyghael
1963 Sgt. Angus MacDonald, SG
1962 Seumas MacNeill, Bearsden
1961 Ronald Lawrie, CGP
1960 John MacFadyen, Glasgow
1959 Kenneth MacDonald, Glasgow
1958 Iain MacFadyen, Glasgow
1957 RSM John MacLellan, SH
1956 P/M D MacLennan, N. Berwick
1955 William MacDonald, Inverness
1954 P/M Donald R. MacLeod, SH
1953 James MacColl, Shotts
1952 P/M R. McCallum, Inveraray
1951 P/M Donald MacLean, Lewis
1950 John D. Burgess, Edinburgh
1949 P/Sgt. R. MacKay, CH.
1948 Donald MacPherson, Glasgow
1947 R.G. Hardie, Glasgow
1946 P/M P. Bain. Glasgow
no competitions held during the War
1938 Roderick MacDonald, CGP
1937 Donald F. Ross, Lochgilphead
1936 Donald Iain MacKenzie, Tongue
1935 L/Cpl Nicol MacCullum, 8th A&SH
1934 P/M C. Smith, 2nd Black Watch
1933 Malcolm R. MacPherson, Invershin
1932 P/Sgt. J. Robertson, 2nd SG
1931 Robert U. Brown, Muir of Ord
1930 R.B. Nicol, Crathie
1929 P/M J.D. MacDonald, 1st SG
1928 Hugh Kennedy
1927 J. Wilson, Edinburgh
1926 John MacDonald, CGP
1925 David Ross, Sutherland
1924 P/M Chisholm, Edinburgh
1923 A.M. Calder, Edinburgh
1922 P/M Robert Reid, Glasgow
1921 P/M J. Mathieson
1920 P/M William Taylor, Edinburgh
1919 P/M J.O. Duff, Edinburgh
no competitions held during WW I
1913 P/M James Taylor, HLI
1912 W. MacLean, Glasgow
1911 George Yardley, Cambuslang
1910 P/Sgt Lawrie, 8th A&SH
1909 William Gray, Govan Police
1908 Roderick Campbell, Inverness
1907 P/M W. Ross, 2nd SG
1906 James A Center, Edinburgh
1905 George S. Allan, 2nd Scottish Horse
1904 P/Cpl. George MacLennan, 1st GH
1903 P/M Donald Mathieson, 3rd HLI
1902 Cpl Piper William Ross, 1st SG
1901 John Wallace
1900 no competition
1899 Murdo MacKenzie, Piper to Mr. A.E. Butter, Faskally
1898 Farquar MacRae
1897 John MacDonald
1896 Gavin Campbell MacDougall
1895 John MacKenzie
1894 George J. Ross
1893 William Robb
1892 Archibald R. MacColl
1891 David C. Mather, Lochcarron
1890 Norman MacPherson
1889 John MacPherson
1888 Kenneth MacDonald
1887 P/M John MacKay, 4th A&SH
1886 P/M Robert Meldrum, 2nd A&SH
1885 P/M John Cameron, 2nd Queens Own Cameron Highlanders
1884 John MacDougall Gillies, Aberdeen
1883 Angus MaRae, Piper to Mr. H.E.Wood, Raasay
1882 Angus MacDonald, Piper to MacDonell of South Morar
1881 John MacColl, Bonawe
1880 Robert MacKinnon
1879 George MacDonald, South Morar
1878 William MacLennan, Dundee Police
1877 John MacBean, Piper to Lord Middleton
1876 Malcolm MacPherson (Calum Piobaire) Piper to Cluny
1875 John MacBean, Piper to Lord Middleton
1874 Ronald MacKenkie, Piper to MacDonald of Dunach
1873 D.S. MacDonald

  Celtic Fringe © 2002 - 2015